Our Team

Shimon Whiteson, Chief Scientist

Shimon Whiteson is the co-founder and CEO of Morpheus Labs.  He has a PhD in computer science and seventeen years of experience developing and applying machine learning algorithms.  He is currently an associate professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Oxford and has consulted for companies such as Legend3DDiffBlue, and Microsoft Research Cambridge.



João Messias, CTO

Prior to helping start Morpheus Labs as its CTO, João Messias had a leading role in the technical integration of several research projects on robotics and applied artificial intelligence, including TERESA, MOnarCH, and MAIS+S. He has been an active researcher on these topics since 2008, and he received his PhD in electrical and computer engineering in 2014, while at the Institute for Systems and Robotics in Lisbon. Until 2017 and in the context of the TERESA project, João was a post-doctoral researcher at the University of Amsterdam.



Kirsty Lloyd-Jukes, CEO

Prior to joining Morpheus Labs, Kirsty was the Director of Ventures for The AA, focusing on launching and incubating digital and connected car innovations, alongside leading the Driving Schools, Motoring Services and Media divisions, and heading up Group Strategy. Before this, she was a principal at leading global strategy consulting firm Oliver Wyman. Kirsty holds a degree in Classics from Oxford University. She is also a non-executive director for the Institute of Directors.



Scientific Advisors

Frans Oliehoek

Frans Oliehoek currently is a Lecturer at the Department of Computer Science of the University of Liverpool. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science (2010) from the University of Amsterdam. Frans’ research focuses on machine learning and decision making under uncertainty, with an emphasis on multiagent systems.



Research & Development

Xi Chen
Research Scientist
Head of Computer Vision

Feryal Behbahani
Research Scientist
Vitaly Kurin
Junior Researcher
Kyriacos Shiarlis
Junior Researcher

Junior Researcher

Daniel Marta
Research Intern

Rishabh Agarwal
Research Intern